Top Ten Classic Books I Haven’t Read

Tinker tailor soldier spy cover

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme over at The Broke and the Bookish is Top Ten Classic Books I Haven’t Read.  Great theme.  We’ve all got books we haven’t got around to reading, but let’s face it – life is short and while you might manage to work your way through the long and worthy list of Most Best Classic Books Ever To Read Before You Die, I’m never going to do it.

There’s a ton of things I do because they have to be done – unblocking drains, cleaning up dog sick, replying to my accountant’s emails – but when I read a book I read it purely for pleasure.  Yup, just for the sheer and utter enjoyment of it.  There aren’t many areas of life where I get to be so indulgent and I have no intention of turning my lifelong pleasure of reading into a chore any time soon. So while there are plenty of classics I haven’t read, the books on my list are all books I want to read.  Just because I want to.

  1. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John Le Carre.  I have no idea why I haven’t read this already.  This year for sure.
  2. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.  Bought it last week.  This month for sure.
  3. Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys.  The back story of the mad woman in the attic from Jane Eyre – this has been on my to-read list for years.
  4. Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier.  Ships lured to their doom by wreckers on the Cornish coast.   Can’t wait.
  5. L.A. Confidential by James Ellroy.  I’ve read several books by Mr Ellroy, but somehow managed to miss this.  Love listening to him on the radio.  Great voice, great writer.
  6. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro.  Remains of the Day is one of my favourite books, yet it’s the only one of his I have read.  A shameful oversight on my part.
  7. Flashman by George MacDonald Fraser.  My favourite parts in the TV serial of Tom Brown’s Schooldays were when the young Brown was being mercilessly tortured by nasty bully Flashman.  The Flashman books look like a rip-roaring read for this summer.
  8. Children of the Dust by Louise Lawrence.  I love a bit of dystopia but only recently heard of this book.  Fear of atomic war was at its height during my formative years so I look forward to it scaring me witless.
  9. The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel.  This is a bit a of a cheat.  The only reason I haven’t read the final instalment of Mantel’s Thomas Cromwell trilogy is because it isn’t out yet.  Perhaps a little premature then to have it listed as a classic, but going by Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, I hope not.
  10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  I know.  I know.

LG Thomson is the author of Boyle’s Law, Each New Morn, and Erosion.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Classic Books I Haven’t Read

    • Cold Blood is sitting on my bedside cabinet – it’s next up! Looking forward to it. I’ve read five of the books on your list, Lisa but haven’t heard of The Feminine Mystique – I’m going to look it up. Happy reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

