On Not Writing

Thrillers With Attitude

Gruinard Bay, North West Scotland. April 2015

For reasons explained in my last post, there’s not much writing being writ in the Attitude household at the moment.  Life has been turned inside out and upside down.  One of the casualties has been my writing.  My routine has been shot to hell.  It’s frustrating, but sometimes there’s nothing for it but to roll with the punches.

The good news is that my partner is making an incredible recovery.  I’ve been married to him for fifteen years and in that time he has astounded me in all sorts of ways (you can read that any way you like), but on this occasion he has really pulled the rabbit out of the hat.  The doctors are agog, which is terrific as it gives me the opportunity to use the word agog.

There’s still a long way to go before he is fully recovered, but he will get there, and somewhere along the way I will be able to re-establish my writing routine.  In the meantime, paper scraps and post-it notes of scribbled ideas are stacking up.  When I get back to it, I’m getting back good.

LG Thomson is the author of Boyle’s Law, Each New Morn, and Erosion.

Leave a Reply

